California Water Science Center (CAWSC) - San Bernardino Valley Optimal Basin Management (OBM)

You are here: CAWSC Home > Projects > San Bernardino Valley Optimal Basin Management > Training > Optimization Resources
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

USGS Optimization Training

Resources


People - The following USGS scientists led an applied ground-water optimization study.


Name Agency Email Phone
Barlow, Paul
Hydrologist
WSC, Northborough, MA pbarlow@usgs.gov (508) 490-5070
Bexfield, Laura
Hydrologist
WSC, Albuquerque, NM bexfield@usgs.gov (505) 830-7972
Czarnecki, John
Hydrologist
WSC, Little Rock, AR jczarnec@usgs.gov (501) 228-3617
Danskin, Wes
Research Hydrologist
WSC, San Diego, CA wdanskin@usgs.gov (619) 225-6132
Nishikawa, Tracy
Research Hydrologist
WSC, San Diego, CA tnish@usgs.gov (619) 225-6148
Reichard, Eric
Research Hydrologist
WSC, San Diego, CA egreich@usgs.gov (619) 225-6134
Tiedeman, Claire
Research Hydrologist
HQ WSC, Menlo Park, CA tiedeman@usgs.gov (650) 329-4583
Wagner, Brian
Research Hydrologist
HQ WSC, Menlo Park, CA bjwagner@usgs.gov (650) 329-4567
Walker, John
Research Hydrologist
WSC, Middleton, WI jfwalker@usgs.gov (608) 821-3853

Computer Codes


Software Website General characteristics
AMPL www.ampl.com Linear, nonlinear, mixed integer problems. Easy setup and use.
Excel Solver www.solver.com Linear, nonlinear, mixed integrer problems. Add in to Excel with upgraded capabilities.
GAMS www.gams.com Linear, nonlinear, mixed integer problems. Easy setup and modification.  Available on most platforms.
LINDO www.lindo.com Linear, nonlinear, integer problems. Various products. What's Best! uses Excel.
MINOS http://www.sbsi-sol-optimize.com/asp/sol_product_minos.htm Linear and nonlinear. FORTRAN code. MPS input. Solver used in GAMS and AMPL.
MODFLOW GWM http://water.usgs.gov/nrp/gwsoftware/gwm/gwm.html Linear and quadratic problems. Works with MODFLOW.