USGS - science for a changing world

Aquatic Ecology Research Team


Headshot of Larry Brown, Research Biologist with the USGS California Water Science Center

Larry Brown, Research Biologist
916-278-3098 | lrbrown@usgs.gov
USGS Staff Profile

Larry R. Brown is a Research Biologist with the U.S. Geological Survey, California Water Science Center. Dr. Brown has over 35 years experience working in California aquatic systems. He is a recognized expert on the ecology of California fishes and has published on California fishes, benthic macroinvertebrates and benthic algae. Dr. Brown is currently involved in studies of the effects of climate change on selected fish species in the Central Valley watershed and San Francisco Estuary, factors associated with declines in pelagic fish populations of the San Francisco Estuary, and effects of hydrologic alteration on California stream systems. In the course of his work, Dr. Brown has authored or coauthored over 80 scientific articles and reports.


placeholder

Fred Feyrer, Research Fish Biologist
916-278-3232 | ffeyrer@usgs.gov
USGS Staff Profile

Fred Feyrer is a fish biologist with the U.S. Geological Survey, California Water Science Center. He studies the biology and ecology of fishes, with a focus on threatened and endangered species in the San Francisco Estuary and the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta.


placeholder

Jason May, Biologist
916-278-3079 | jasonmay@usgs.gov
USGS Staff Profile

Jason T. May is an aquatic ecologist with the U.S. Geological Survey, California Water Science Center. Mr. May has over 14 years experience working in California aquatic systems. He has published on California fishes, benthic macroinvertebrates and benthic algae. Mr. May is currently involved in studies of the effects of urbanization on stream systems across the United States, modeling of responses of stream macroinvertebrate communities to land use changes, and investigations of mercury and other trace metals contamination associated with abandon mine lands. In the course of his work, Mr. May has authored or coauthored over 30 scientific articles and reports.


headshot of Marissa Wulff, USGS Biologist

Marissa Wulff, Biologist
916-278-3299 | mwulff@usgs.gov
USGS Staff Profile


placeholder

Dave Ayers, Fish Biologist
916-374-8554 | dayers@usgs.gov


headshot of Olier Patton, a fish biologist with the USGS

Oliver Patton, Fish Biologist
916-278-3000 | opatton@usgs.gov

Oliver Patton is a fish biologist with the U.S. Geological Survey, California Water Science Center. He has worked in the California aquatic systems for the past 7 years, focusing primarily on the native fish species. Oliver is currently involved in multiple studies that aim to determine the effects of water quality, hydrology and habitat structure on fish community structure, specifically surrounding tidal marsh wetlands in the San Francisco Estuary.


photo of Matt Young, USGS Fish Biologist, holding a fish

Matthew Young, Fish Biologist
916-278-3000 | mjyoung@usgs.gov
USGS Staff Profile


Ethan Clark tagging a Clear Lake Hitch

Ethan Clark, Biological Science Technician
916-278-3000 | edclark@usgs.gov


placeholder

Justin Clause, Physical Science Technician
916-278-3000 | jclause@usgs.gov


photo of Veronica Larwoood, USGS physical science technician, holding a fish

Veronica Larwood, Physical Science Technician
916-278-3000 | vlarwood@usgs.gov


placeholder

Emerson Gusto, Physical Science Technician
916-278-3000 | egusto@usgs.gov


photo of Dennis Steinke, USGS Physical Scientist, holding a tule perch

Dennis Steinke, Physical Science Technician
916-278-3000 | dsteinke@usgs.gov


photo of Ethan Enos, USGS Pathways Student Intern

Ethan Enos, Pathways Student Intern
916-278-3000